Seattle Getaway

Happy 4 day week everyone! How was your long 4th of July weekend? I spent the holiday in the city that never sleeps – Las Vegas. Stay tuned for my post on that vacation coming soon! I’m still recovering from the over 100˚ weather and definitely need a vacation from my vacation.

Last week prior to Vegas I snuck up to Seattle for a quick during the week mini vacation to visit some family friends and see a friend visiting from Canada. I had a lovely time and I’m planning another trip later in the summer. Here are my 5 must see attractions in Seattle!

1. Go to Pikes Place Market

Pikes is my favorite thing about Seattle from the endless flower stands to the men at Pike Place Fish throwing Copper River Salmon. I always make time to stop at the market when I first get into town and it’s the last place I go before I drive back home.

Flowers from the market

2. Visit the Space Needle

I’m terrified of heights but I’ve gone up the Space Needle twice. I didn’t make it up there this trip but I was there in February. I love the view from the top. My recommendation is to go a little before sunset so that you can watch the city lights come on.

3. Have breakfast at Peso’s Kitchen & Lounge

My roommate from college and I found this delicious spot to eat. If you are looking for a breakfast place that has a little bit of everything this is it!

4. Eat lunch at Le Panier

Le Panier is a French Bakery in Pike Place Market. You can smell the bakery from blocks away. The ham and butter sandwich is my favorite; it’s made with their fresh, crusty baguette. Don’t forget to buy a viennoiserie on your way out  I always buy their pain au chocolate.

5. Stop at Dilettante’s for desert

This most recent trip I discovered Dilettante’s thanks to my friend Sammy who is from the area. The Mocha Cafés are filled with cakes, truffles, ice cream and the famous “Mocha Menu.” I went to the one on Broadway and had their Salted Caramel Coupe. It was to die for and I’m so happy I don’t live there or I’d be eating it every night.

What are your favorite things about Seattle?

xox
Em

One response to “Seattle Getaway

  1. Pingback: 2011 | According to Em

Leave a Reply

