Ratatouille Provençale

I love to cook but what most people don’t know is that I used to be terrible at it! I grew up baking with my sisters and eventually got into cooking my second year of college. You should talk to my roommate; she has some great stories about my first experiences with raw meats. I’d like to say that practice makes perfect, but I think you have to enjoy cooking too. Even if my recipe doesn’t turn out the way I want it to in the end I still keep cooking and trying new things!

This week the weather in the Pacific NW has been horrible. We’ve had huge rain storms, limited blue sky and lots of grey. I thought the best way to get over my summer blues would be to cook one of my favorite things Ratatouille Provençale. It’s my mom’s recipe adapted from the Ratatouille Provençale from The Joy of Cooking. It’s delicious and perfect for a day like today. Enjoy!

Ingredients: 

1/3 cup olive oil
1 – 2 garlic cloves
1 onion
1/2 green bell pepper
1/2 red bell pepper
2 green zucchini
2 yellow zucchini
2 cans of stewed tomatoes or 3-4 fresh tomatoes
1 teaspoon oregano
4 teaspoons basil – if using fresh herb only use 2 teaspoons

Method: 

1. Slice onion into long strips {half-moons}, green and yellow zucchinis into thin circles, green and red bell peppers into long strips and mince the garlic cloves
2. Sauté onion and garlic in a large sauté pan with olive oil until onions are translucent and just starting to brown about 5 – 7 minutes
3. Add zucchini, bell peppers, stewed or fresh tomatoes and herbs to the pan, stir and bring to a boil
4. Cover pan and simmer over very low heat for about 45 minutes
5. Uncover and continue to heat another 15 minutes to reduce liquid
6. Stir well to blend and serve either hot or cold

  

xox
Em  

Leave a Reply

