Weekend Getaways

One of my favorite places to visit is the Oregon Coast. It’s beautiful, peaceful and the perfect weekend getaway!

{The beach down the hill from our house}

A few of my friends and I decided to end July by spending the weekend at my family’s beach house. We hopped in the car Friday afternoon and made our way to the coast. It was beautiful weather and a perfect mini getaway.

{Sunset from the deck}

The trip was full of great food, beach time, shopping, great sunsets on the deck and s’mores. We spent most of this trip in Newport, which is a great coastal town south of Lincoln City and home to the Oregon Coast Aquarium. Here’s a list of some Newport favorites!

Restaurants
Nana’s Irish Pub
If you love traditional Irish food this is the place for you!

Rogue Ales Public House
The Public House was the original Newport Brewery for Rogue until 1992 when it moved across the Newport Bay. Favorite thing on the menu: Fish and Chips.  

Sights
Yaquina Head Lighthouse 
Oregon’s tallest lighthouse. 

Oregon Coast Aquarium
I’ve been visiting the aquarium since I was little and it’s still one of my favorite places. Don’t miss Passages of the Deep or the adorable Sea Otters

Shopping
Historic Nye Beach
By far my favorite place in Newport. Perfect place to spend the morning, afternoon or entire day. There’s great food, fun shops, art and of course the beach! 

Newport Bayfront
Great food, shopping, galleries, fishing and whale tours and much more!

{Bayfront} 

We are already planning another trip for August. I don’t have a picture of the group; I’m waiting for the girls to upload pictures! Once I have one I’ll add it to the post.

xox
Em  

3 responses to “Weekend Getaways

  1. Rouge Brewery all the way! I miss Newport. No Moe’s Em? What gives?

    • Newport misses you Bry! Come up for a visit; the house is always open for you. MO’S! Oh how could I forget Mo’s. I’ll have to add it. I also have a picture to add once Katie sends it!

      xox
      Em

  2. Pingback: 2011 | According to Em

Leave a Reply

