Couscous-Stuffed Peppers

I love to cook and in my free time you will definitely see me watching the Food Network, looking at online food blogs and reading Sunset magazine, which I think has some of the best recipes!

My favorite chef is Giada De Laurentiis. I love her recipesshowscookbooks and overall personality. My DVR is full of Everyday Italian and Giada At Home and my recipe box is full of her appetizers, meals and deserts.

This week I decided to channel my inner chef and whip up one of my favorite Giada recipes. I had to make a few changes because I wanted to use what I had at home but you can see the original recipe here!

Ingredients:

1 box of Near East Couscous {I used Toasted Pine Nut but I prefer Original Plain or Roasted Garlic & Olive Oil}*
1 & 1/4 cups low-sodium chicken broth
2 teaspoons olive oil
2 teaspoons ground cumin
1 can garbanzo beans, drained and rinsed
1/4 cup dried cranberries {Craisins} or dried currants
1 cup chopped spinach leaves
1/2 cup crumbled feta cheese {4 ounces}
1/4 cup olive oil
2 Green Bell Peppers
1 Red Bell Pepper
Salt & Pepper for seasoning
Hot water as needed

*I used boxed couscous this time because I had it and didn’t want to make a trip to the store. Feel free to use bulk or any other type of couscous. If you choose this option this recipe calls for 3/4 cup couscous and 1 cup of low-sodium chicken broth rather than 1 & 1/4. {See Giada’s recipe for measurements and directions} 

Method:

Couscous:
1. In a medium saucepan combine 1 & 1/4 cups low-sodium chicken broth, 2 teaspoons olive oil, 2 teaspoons ground cumin and the Spice Packet found in the box of couscous
2. Bring to a boil, stir in couscous and remove from heat
3. Cover the pan and let stand until couscous is tender and all of the liquid has been absorbed {5 – 7 minutes}

Follow the same steps for bulk couscous or any type of couscous you decide to use. {See Giada’s recipe for measurements and directions}  

Filling:

1. Put cooked couscous in a large bowl
2. Add garbanzo beans, cranberries or currants, spinach, feta and 1/4 cup olive oil
3. Season with salt and pepper
4. Stir until all ingredients are combined

  

Bell Peppers:

The first time I made this dish I followed Giada’s recipe and left the peppers standing up. This time I decided to cut them in half. I like it both ways I just decided to try something different. See below for my directions and see Giada’s recipe for the stand up option.  

1. Slice the bell peppers lengthwise
2. Remove all the ribs and seeds
3. Stuff the peppers with couscous filling
4. Drizzle with a bit of olive oil

Put peppers in a 9 by 13 inch baking dish or an 8 by 8 inch depending on the size and shape of peppers.  Fill the bottom of the baking dish with 3/4 of an inch of hot water. Bake at 400 degrees until the filling is golden brown and the peppers are cooked through, about 40 – 50 minutes.

Remove peppers from pan, serve and enjoy!

xox
Em  

2 responses to “Couscous-Stuffed Peppers

  1. How dare you, without me.

Leave a Reply

