Bacardi Rum Cake

Every once in a while I like to bake something. Baking was the first thing I learned to do in the kitchen. My sisters taught me how to make cookies and thus began my love for anything and everything cooking and food related. I’ve lost a few of my baking skills overtime but the only way to fix that is to start baking as much as I cook!

If you like pound cake and rum you will love this recipe.

{A Taste of Oregon Cookbook}

Ingredients

1 cup chopped pecans or walnuts*
1 {18.5-ounce} package yellow cake mix
1 {3 & 3/4-ounce} package instant vanilla pudding mix
4 eggs
1/2 cup cold water
1/2 cup oil
1/2 cup Bacardi dark rum {80 proof}*

I decided to not put pecans or walnuts in the cake this time. I also did not use dark rum. The taste of the cake changes depending on the type of rum you use. I prefer to use dark rum but tried Bacardi Superior this time. 

{Ingredients}

Method 

1. Preheat oven to 325 degrees and grease 12-inch bundt pan
2. Combine yellow cake mix, instant vanilla pudding mix, 4 eggs, cold water, oil and rum in to large mixing bowl
3. Mix ingredients together and pour batter into bundt pan
4. Bake for 1 hour*
5. Cool and invert onto serving plate

*The bake time changes depending on how hot your oven gets. I made the mistake of not checking my cake during the last 20 minutes it was baking and it got a little burnt. Make sure you start checking the cake after 45 minutes to see if it is done early. 

 {Batter & cooked cake}

Ingredients for Glaze 

1/4 pound butter {1 stick}
1/4 cup water
1 cup granulated sugar
1/4 – 1/2 cup Bacardi dark rum {80 proof}*

*I prefer to use dark rum but tried Bacardi Superior this time. The glaze was delicious. 

{Glaze ingredients}

Method 

1. Melt butter in a sauce pan
2. Stir in water and sugar

3. Boil butter, water & sugar mixture for 5 minutes stirring constantly



4. Remove from heat and add rum

5. Prick top of cake and drizzle glaze evenly over top and sides allowing glaze to absorb, repeat until glaze is used up*

*Save part of the glaze to drizzle on top of pieces before serving. 

Enjoy!

xox
Em  

Leave a Reply

