Peach & Blueberry Crumble

I love Saturday Markets or Farmers Markets. I always find the freshest fruit and vegetables and I love supporting local farmers. Last weekend I made my way downtown to the Salem Saturday Market and found some great ingredients for two dishes. I made this crumble over the weekend and made Orecchiette with Greens, Garbanzo Beans and Feta Salata during the week. Here’s the recipe for the crumble and stay tuned for Orecchiette recipe one of my favorite dishes to eat and make!

I found this recipe on the Food Network website and it was of course made by one of my favorite chefs Giada De Laurentiis. Her recipe calls for strawberries but I substituted in blueberries.

Ingredients

Filling:

2 tablespoons lemon juice
1 & 1/2 tablespoons arrowroot flour
1 pound blueberries or strawberries {halved}
1 and 1/2 pounds peaches, peeled, pitted and sliced
1/2 cup brown sugar

Topping:

2/3 cup all-purpose flour
2/3 cup old fashioned style oats
1/2 cup sliced almonds
1/4 cup light brown sugar
1 teaspoon ground cinnamon
1/4 teaspoon fine sea salt*
1 stick butter, chilled, cut into small cubes

*I left out the salt in my crumble due to the almonds I used were salted. 

Method 

Filling:

1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees and butter an 8 X 8 inch baking dish
2. Whisk together lemon juice and arrowroot in a medium bowl until smooth
3. Add blueberries or strawberries, peaches and brown sugar into the medium bowl and gently toss until the fruit is coated
4. Pour fruit mixture into 8 X 8 buttered dish and set aside

  

Topping:

1. Combine flour, oats, almonds, brown sugar, cinnamon and salt {unless you used salted almonds like me} in a food processor
2. Pulse ingredients until mixed
3. Add chilled, cubed butter to mixture
4. Pulse until the batter is pea size
5. Sprinkle topping mixture over the filling and pop into the oven
6. Bake for 40 – 45 minutes until the top is golden brown and the filling is bubbling
7. Let cool for 5 – 10 minutes

  

Serve and enjoy!

xox
Em 

Leave a Reply

