Aussies in Oregon

I should probably take a moment and introduce Karen and Adrian {K & A} given I have mentioned them in my last three posts, my family met the wonderful twosome + their two children 17 years ago in Florence, Italy {yes, Italy}. It was definitely a meet cute and we have been family friends ever since. This was their third trip to see us in the states and we loved every minute together!

11.3.11
K & A arrived on my birthday

{Blowing out the candles}

11.4.11

Sadly I had a work meeting I couldn’t miss so K & A spent the day with my dad driving around Salem. I did however fix a lovely meal that I will post a recipe for soon!

{Orecchiette with Greens, Garbanzo Beans and Feta Salata}

11.5.11

Saturday we ventured to Mission Mill where we learned the history of the Willamette Valley and had lunch at Napoleon’s Creperie & Galateria. We ended the day watching the Oregon Ducks beat Washington.

{Taken by A: Mission Mill}

{Lunch at Napoleon’s}

11.6.11

K & A spent the day with my lovely parents as I celebrated my birthday with Maria and Jackie.

{A birthday is not complete without Mai Tais}

11.7.11

A trip to Oregon is not complete without a day at the coast! My dad and I took K & A to our beach house in Waldport for the day and stopped in Newport for lunch.

{Taken by A: Mo’s in Newport}

  
{K & A in Newport | K & Me at the house}

11.8.11

K & I left A with my dad and spent the morning shopping in downtown Salem. We hit up a few of my favorite boutiques: Felicity & Bittersweet. We had lunch at the Wild Pear and stopped by The Arbor and Ma Valise. K & A taught me how to make roast lamb and veggies the Aussie way for dinner; I’ll share the recipe soon!

{Aussie feast Roast Lamb and Veggies – sorry the picture’s a bit blurry}

11.9.11

We ventured out of Salem and spent the day in McMinnville at the Evergreen Aviation & Space Museum. A & Dad were in heaven and K & I had a wonderful time laughing and enjoying each other’s company.

{Dad and A learning about the Spruce Goose}

{Inside the Spruce Goose}

                
                                            {Taken by A: Exploring a Ford plane}

11.10.11

  My grandfather was interviewed at the Register Guard in Eugene for a WWII Veteran’s story so we spent the day in Eugene. I took K & A around the U of O campus during the interview and we met up with my parents, grandfather and aunt for dinner at Sweet Basil.

 {University of Oregon}

We stopped by the UO Ford Alumni Center and found our names in the data base

              {Sorry mom, your picture is a little blurry!}

11.11.11

We spent the day relaxing and helping A & K pack. We celebrated their last night with us at DaVinci’s Ristorante.

11.12.11

K & A flew to Dallas, TX! We miss them and can’t wait to see them again! It was a wonderful 10 days filled with great friends, small adventures, and lots of laughs.

xox
Em  

One response to “Aussies in Oregon

  1. Pingback: Roast Lamb and Vegetables | According to Em

Leave a Reply

