Orecchiette with Greens, Garbanzo Beans and Feta Salata

I can’t wait to spend tomorrow morning cooking a Thanksgiving feast with my mom. I love cooking and thought I’d share a fun dish, family favorite and one of the meals I made for K & A while they were in town!

{Before sharing the recipe I want to give credit to my favorite chef Giada De Laurentiis who created this recipe. I’ve adapted it a bit to make it my own. To view her recipe click here.}

Ingredients 

1 pound orecchiette pasta {I usually use De Cecco pasta}
1/2 cup olive oil
2-4 garlic cloves, crushed {it all depends on how much you like garlic}
12 ounces Swiss Chard
12 ounces spinach
1 (15-ounce) can garbanzo beans {rinsed and drained}
2 cups small cherry or grape tomatoes
8 ounces feta cheese crumbled {feel free to use whatever cheese you love}
2 teaspoons lemon zest
2 lemons
Salt & black pepper for seasoning

Directions 

1. Bring a large pot of salted water to a boil and add pasta; cook until tender {8 – 10 minutes}; drain and set aside
2. In a large skillet or cast iron pot heat oil over medium heat and add garlic; cook garlic until light brown and remove from oil {2-3 minutes}

3.  Add Swiss chard to oil and cook until wilted
4. Add spinach to cooked chard in batches until all greens are wilted

 

5. Add beans, tomatoes and garlic to greens and cook for 5 minutes

 

6. Turn off heat; add pasta, cheese, salt and pepper, lemon zest and the juice of both lemons

7. Toss, serve and enjoy!

xox
Em  

Leave a Reply

