Chicken Tostadas

Freshman year of college at the U of O I was blessed with the most wonderful roommate in the world, Maria. We loved living together in an 11×8 box {our itty bitty dorm room} so much that we decided to live together for the next 3 years as well. From campus to Chase Village and Adams Street to Hilyard we made Eugene our home for 4 years. We became experienced packers, frequent Target shoppers, and I slowly learned how to cook! By the end of our sophomore year you never would have guessed that prior to college I would burn mac & cheese when I made it from a box and the thought of raw chicken disgusted me for I was frying homemade egg rolls and learning how to make Mexican dishes from scratch with no recipe. I had no desire to cook growing up; I loved to bake but for some reason the stovetop and I didn’t get along; however, somewhere in the last 5 years the stovetop and I have reached a mutual agreement.  I love cooking and I owe it all to my 4 years in Eugene, my trust worthy sous chef Maria, and my wonderful friends who always came over to eat whatever recipe I was conquering next.

Chicken Tostadas
{Maria’s Family Recipe}

Ingredients 

1 package of Guerrero Tostadas Caseras Amarillas
2 chicken breasts
sea salt
1/4 cup olive oil
1 large onion
4 roma tomatoes {choose the largest}
1 green bell pepper {optional}
1/2 head of lettuce
1/2 – 1 cup of cheese {choose your favorite}
1 avocado {optional}
4 limes
sour cream
salsa {your favorite}

Directions 

1. Heat olive oil in large skillet over medium heat, chop onion in to small pieces and add to oil

2. In a medium sized pot bring salted water to a  boil, add chicken breasts, a sprinkle of olive oil and a few slices of onion

3. Once the chopped onion begins to become translucent {3-5 minutes} add chopped green bell pepper; reduce heat and let simmer until chicken is cooked

4.  Once chicken is cooked remove from water and shred

  

5. Add shredded chicken and chopped tomatoes to onion and pepper mixture; let simmer for 5 minutes

6. Chop lettuce, grate cheese, slice avocado & lime and place on a platter

7. Grab a tostada shell and pile with warm chicken, pepper, tomato and onion mixture, lettuce, cheese and avocado, squeeze lime juice over the pile of delicious ingredients and top with sour cream and salsa!

I hope you enjoy this recipe as much as I do; es delicioso!

xox
Em

Special thanks to Sammy, Kaitlin, Jackie, Bryan, Nick, Jaime, Emily V, Ashley & Katie L for always being willing to try what was placed in front of you! I love each and every one of you and miss our Annual Eugene Thanksgiving dinners, birthday BBQ’s and random egg roll dinners around my huge table. 


Leave a Reply

