Barcelona Stole my Heart

“Once you have traveled, the voyage never ends, but is played out over and over again in the quietest chambers. The mind can never break off from the journey.”
– Pat Conroy – 

It’s been two months since returning from Barcelona and I’m still dreaming about the trip. Is it crazy to say that just a few days might have changed my life?  I’ve been traveling the world since I was little, yet the older I get the more appreciation I have for the moments spent exploring and the moments back at home. I love the comfort of home and being close to my family and friends but I’m constantly dreaming of my next adventure, which will be happening sooner than later. Until then I’ll just have to relive the moments from the last.

Barcelona was my favorite destination during my Europe adventure. I loved everything about that city. The architecture, food, wine, people and sights were incredible. I would love to go back and spend a month exploring every nook and cranny. Even though I was extremely jet lagged I loved every moment and pushed through each day as if it were my last. I ate, drank and saw Barcelona, I took everything in and breathed a sigh of relief and thanks to be there in those moments of total bliss. From Gaudí’s masterpieces to refreshing sangria, Barcelona stole my heart.

  

We stayed at the most adorable Bed & Breakfast, Marina View, in Old Town Barcelona and across the street from the port & Mediterranean Sea. The B&B is just minutes from amazing restaurants, shopping and beaches and is owned by the most perfect host, Paddy! He welcomed us with open arms and suggestions of places to eat, explore and experience. Paddy made our time in Barcelona even more memorable and share stories that I will never forget. Next time I visit I will definitely stay here again.

Three Favorite Sites:

Casa Batlló – built by Emilio Sala Cortés in 1887 and refurbished by Antoni Gaudí between 1904 & 1906 Casa Batlló took my breath away. No photo or description does this house justice; you just have to go see it for yourself.

  

Palau de la Música Catalana– built by Lluís Domènech i Montaner between 1905 and 1908 the majestic, unique concert hall is the most beautiful hall I have ever stepped foot in. The façade, foyer, staircases & skylight are indescribable. Like Casa Batlló you have to see it for yourself.

La Sagrada Familia – is the most visited sight in Barcelona and once you visit you know exactly why. The second you enter the Roman Catholic Church you are overcome by the beautiful, unique architecture designed by Antoni Gaudí. No photo or interpretation could describe what it’s like in person, and I know I will never experience or witness anything like it again.

  

Favorite Restaurants:

Il Mercante Di Venezia – just minutes away from our B&B this delicious Italian restaurant is where we ate our first night! The pizza & salad were incredible. If I lived in Barcelona I would be a frequent visitor!   

Restaurant Sedna – if you are looking for authentic Spanish food this is the place.  We sat outside and enjoyed traditional paella and a pitcher of refreshing sangria. It was the perfect place to enjoy a quiet, relaxing dinner.

What places and cities have stolen your heart?

  

xox
Em

Leave a Reply

