Remembering Paris

The soft hum of vendors opening up their stores and the Parisian city slowing walking up is something I will never forget. The smell of fresh cut flowers from the local florist opening his doors and the warm smell of French pastries and café calling my name is something I will always remember. Every morning in Paris was magical {other than the man hanging from the roof on the building next to our hotel…I’m still not sure what exactly he was working on}. I woke up pinching myself that I was actually walking the streets, eating fresh pain au chocolats, and enjoying fine red wine. I’m sure Maria was sick of hearing me hum La Vie en Rose every time my foot stepped out the door, but I know she was secretly singing right along. Paris is a city to experience, a city to fall in love and a city to enjoy the simple pleasure of doing nothing.

  

In just four short days we walked and toured Paris. We watched the city move below us from the Tour Eiffel and wandered through the Musée RodinMusée d’Orsay & The Louvre. I cried at Cathédrale Notre Dame and lit candles at Basilique du Sacré-Coeur. We shopped at Galeries Lafayette, Longchamp, Rue Saint-Honoré and we ate. We stuffed ourselves with buttery croissants that melted in your hand and drank delicious wine that lingered in your mouth for hours. Everything about Paris was lovely and I can’t wait to go back again.

  

We stayed at a beautiful hotel named Hotel Londres Eiffel, just a two minute walk to the Eiffel Tower. It was the perfect location for us and felt like home except with a French-styled twist of course. The best part about this place was the area that it was in. Not only did we walk to the Eiffel Tower every morning and night but we enjoyed delicious pastries every morning and food from the restaurants literally minutes from the doorstep. If you are looking for a lovely place to stay in Paris, this is it!

Three Favorite Sites:

Musée de l’Orangerie – was built in 1852 as a small peaceful art gallery containing both impressionist and post-impressionist paintings. However, it is home and famous for 8 of Claude Monet’s Water Lilies murals and that is precisely why we went. The hour {yes hour} I spent in the two oval rooms left me in awe. I can still close my eyes and remember sitting there in the quite, still, diffused lit room staring into the murals of Monet’s Water Lilies and exhale knowing I’ve seen a masterpiece of art.

Château de Versailles – just a 45 minute train ride outside of Paris is this breath-taking Château. From the minute you walk through the golden gates you imminently feel as if you are a part of the royal court or even possibly the royal family. If you have a full day to explore something beautiful go to Versailles.

  

Cathédrale Notre Dame – a beautiful Gothic Roman Catholic cathedral in the fourth arrondissement of Paris. The moment I walked in there were tears in my eyes {beautiful churches do that to me}. Even though we were there on a cloudy Paris day the stained-glass windows were still beautiful in the 850 year-old cathedral, a must see for future visitors.

 

Favorite Restaurants:

Gusto Italia – down the street from our hotel was the most delicious Italian restaurant. I know it’s horrible; we ate more pizza in Paris than French food. It was delicious and a favorite among the locals! Watch when we go to Italy we will eat nothing but French and Spanish food.

Le Champ des Délices– our favorite place to grab breakfast. Every morning on our walk to the bus we bought croissants from the lovely ladies that worked there. It was right around the corner from our hotel.

EUROPE 2012 724

What places have you never forgotten?

 EUROPE 2012 381 Maria's Photos 677 Maria's Photos 460

xox
Em

Leave a Reply

